Skip to main content

SA Rugby Under 19 Cup | Cell C Sharks Under 19s vs Free State


The SA Rugby Under 19 Cup resumes this weekend after a tournament break with the Cell C Sharks Under 19s taking on their Free State counterparts in Bloemfontein on Friday afternoon.

The first three rounds produced solid victories for the Durban side and a 100% success rate, coupled with bonus point victories over the Leopards, Valke and Western Province, have elevated them to the top of the competition log.

Free State started the tournament like a house on fire with a 75-29 victory over the Valke, but back-to-back losses – to the Blue Bulls and Leopards – has consigned them to fourth place on the six team log.

Regardless of their opponents’ results, Coach Mike Vowles admits that his team have a huge amount of respect for Free State, saying: “Traveling to Bloemfontein to take on Free State is always a tough exercise and one that we certainly don’t take lightly.

“We’re just looking to build on the success of the last three games, the team is in a really good space and considering the make-up of our team, contracted players, club players, Varsity Shield, it’s a dynamic and diverse group.

“We were obviously concerned with how we were going to gel coming into the comp, but having got those three wins under the belt, in particular a win in Cape Town, that’s galvanised the group and pulled us together.

“The players are confident going into this game, after a few days off, the players responded in training and we’re all looking forward to this match. Although we are confident, we would never take any Free State side lightly and we need to bring our ‘A’ game.”

A win this weekend would secure a home semi, but it goes beyond results. “We really want to put in a good performance that brings a win and home semi which would hopefully gives us the best opportunity of a home final.”

Friday afternoon’s match at the Free State Stadium kicks off at 1pm.

Cell C Sharks Under 19s
1. Bradley Stanfliet
2. Ethan Bester
3. Nicholas Snyman
4. Garren Muller
5. Sphephelo Mbonambi
6. Andrew Davies
7. Connor Carson
8. Hugo – Ben Horn
9. Dallyn Beukes
10. Stehan Heymans
11. Risima Sambo
12. Drico Marx
13. Spha Ngcobo
14. Ntobeko Mhlongo
15. Hendrik Pienaar

16. Faasen Laubscher
17. Siyabonga Dube
18. Sinelifa Ncwana
19. Trent Roux
20. Darren Ruth
21. AJ Knoetze
22. Aldo Zoet
23. Minenhle Ngcamu

Rugby, Youth, 2023

  • Hits: 227