Skip to main content

SA Football | Top coaches set to begin their CAF A License Diplomas


The CAF Coaching Convention has readmitted the South African Football Association (SAFA), paving the way for South Africa to host the CAF A License Coaching diploma from 13-20 November 2023.

This prestigious course will be divided into four phases and requires a total of 200 hours of study. Among the selected batch of coaches from 65 applications, a total of 25 participants can now look forward to earning their coveted CAF A badges by June 2024.

SAFA Technical Director Walter Steenbok expressed his satisfaction about this turn of events, saying: “We are extremely excited about the upcoming course and believe that the Association has taken a big step forward by being back in the convention.

“CAF regulations stipulate that Head Coaches must possess either a Pro or CAF A license before sitting on benches during continental competitions like the Champions League and the Confederations Cup,  leading us towards empowering our local talented coaches.”

Earlier this year SAFA the Technical Director expressed his goal to ensure that coaches are fully equipped for their duties.

A significant achievement towards this objective is the reintroduction of the CAF A License, which is considered as a major accomplishment to SAFA’s Coach Education department. He anticipates that more courses will be available for both male and female coaches by 2024.

“It has been six years since we conducted CAF B and A course in South Africa, however, we have managed to get accreditation and satisfied the new manuals’ requirements of the Confederation of African Football (CAF),” concluded Steenbok”.

The coaches listed below have been accepted into the course with success:

  1. Alliance Kubayi
  2. Alex Zondi
  3. Bilton Musonda
  4. Boebie Solomons
  5. Bongani Manzini
  6. Carol Kanyemba
  7. Dennis Makinka
  8. Eric Tinkler
  9. Gavin Hunt
  10. Godfrey Sapula
  11. Grand de Smidt
  12. Jabulani Mendu
  13. Kabelo Malapane
  14. Lunga Ngwane
  15. Marcus Mashilo
  16. Monde Hlatshwayo
  17. Nkosana Mabhena
  18. Pogiso Makhoye
  19. Sailor Tshabalala
  20. Steve Barker
  21. Tiro Van Rooyen
  22. Tlisane Motaung
  23. Thulani Mthimkulu
  24. Wesley Segel
  25. Zane Ryklief

Football, SA Sports News

  • Hits: 481

Subscribe to our newsletter